Welcome – CV

Bonjour, Guten Tag and Hello,

My name is Romain Becker, and  I’m a teacher.

If you’re on this site, you probably know that already and you want to know what kind of teacher I am. Well, you have come to the right place.

This is my teaching portfolio in which you can look up my teaching philosophy, as well as various activities and course plans containing said activities.

This portfolio is based on my first teaching experience at Duke University in 2015/16. Over time, as you may see, I have become more and more organized and the activities I do slightly change, depending on the demands and needs of the students.

The activities you will find in this portfolio are only a few examples of what I do to teach grammar or to encourage listening comprehension, for instance. They are, for the most part, the more original ideas I’ve come up with. The course plans, however, only give general outlines of the activities, but may give a bigger sense of the progress I’ve made throughout the year.

Some of the activities or lesson plans are ones that did not turn out as well as expected, which might make them even more interesting because of my reflecting on them and admitting what went wrong.

You will also find my statement of teaching philosophy – a short piece of writing that forced me to reflect on what teaching means to me and what I think foreign language teaching’s role in this globalized world of ours is.

Should you still want to know more about me, here is my CV (shortened)

Education :

2013 – 2017 : École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, Lyon II Lumière University and Lyon III Jean Moulin University       

Bachelor’s degree in English (2015) and German (2014). First year of the Master’s degree in German (2015), preparation for the Agrégation state exam for teaching

2011 – 2013 : Preparatory class for the grandes écoles (CPGE) at  Lycée Georges de la Tour (in Metz, France)

2003 – 2011 : Lycée Franco-Allemand de Sarrebruck (in Saarbrücken, Germany)

French and German High school diploma

 

Work Experience :

Lecturing fellow at Duke University (2015-2016), teaching French 203 (intermediate level)

Civil Servant in training at the École Normale Supérieure de Lyon (since 2013).

 

Skills:

Languages:

Native French and German.

Near native English.

Intermediate Spanish.

Beginner Japanese.

Other skills:

Very proficient use of computers and software (Word, PowerPoint, Excel…).

German (European) driver’s license.

Leave a Reply

